Red, White & Boom Half Marathon #13 & Harmony Hustle

783A few weeks ago I decide I was going to run the Red, white and Boom Half Marathon in the Twin Cities. I was going to be 1 of my 2 July Half Marathons.  I knew I was going to be camping and having alot of fun over the 4th of July.  So I had to decide if it was going to be worth the sacrifice of no partying and not having as much fun with my friends!!  I decided it was and I went ahead with it!!  I knew I would have to be up at 2:00 am and on the road at 2:40, which I was!!  I was very sleepy with only 3 1/2 hours of sleep, just so much to do to get ready to camp!!  The day before the race I was loading in some bedding and tripped over a Big Block and went down onto the bedding, but hit my foot pretty hard, it bruised right away and I knew It was not good , right then and there I thought about my Half Marathon the next day ugh.  I was kinda limping around but it felt ok I thought. I was up and at it very early and my foot was sore, but I thought I could pull it off.  I knew that is was not going to be a Race where I was going to go for a PR or anything like that!!  Got up to the cities and found race location with no problems.  I love how running has helped me with my fear of driving in the cites.  I have no issues with it anymore, as long as I have my Garmin.  3 years ago you could not pay me to drive up there!!  Running helps you in all things in life not just running!!  I got my packet and Bib, I got a shirt and a great glass.  Very nice goody bag!! 
761
The race started at 6:30 and we were off.  I felt pretty good for the first 6 miles, then after that, my leg and foot were both hurting quite a bit!!  So I took a walk break through the water stations, that seemed to help!!  It was pretty hot and humid even though it was early!!  Thank goodness it started early!!  The beauty along this course was so beautiful and along the water was great!!  I was not a fan of all the hills at all!  There was alot of them!!  
770
This race i ran with my heart, I turned off my Garmin half way and it was so nice to do that once in a while.   As the finish line was nearing, I was thinking to myself, How far I had come to get where I am today in the running world!!  I could not believe that this Half was my 8th of this year and 13 total!!  I just love to race it pumps me up, I love to run at home too.  I love both!!  So lucky to have such a supportive Husband to allow me to go and race and travel to all these races!!  He wishes me luck always, and never complains about my running ever, so Blessed!! Love him ~    I crossed the finish line with a tear, just cuz i had to push hard er than normal. I was hurting pretty good.  Ready for a stretch.  I got a cool medal and then the best post race treat!!  a Bomb Pop!!  Nummy loved it!

776I got back to my car and wiped off, boy I was Hot and then headed back to get ready for the 4th of July Pool party!!  2 1/2 hour drive home felt good to just relax!!  I felt so happy to have another run in, even if it wasn’t the best run or a PR.  They are not all going to be good that is for sure and I know that!!  I just keep putting one foot in front of the, mile after mile and I’ll get there!!  My goal is getting closer and closer, it just make me smile!!  I got home and got all ready to go to the party with my awesome dip!!  785A few days went by after this run, I was pretty sore from the hill, but my foot was feeling ok.  My Local Home town was having their race Habitat Harmony Hustle, so I decided to run the 5K.  It was hot and muggy after camping but it felt great to get out and run that day before we got on the river!!  I ran by a by that inspired me by his running I think he was 9 years old. He kept me thinking to be strong and push hard,  We finished around the same time in 26:30 I was very happy considering I had just ran a Half marathon 2 days before!!  820

So with that I sure had a busy weekend and alot of Racing.  Which I love and this is my year 2013 I am going all out!!  Why not!!  :))  Then when I got done we hit the River and then it was time to relax in our Cowtanks.822

Glitter Girl on the RUN ~ Lindsay

Leave a Reply

